What is a Vegan wine?

Organic and natural wines have been on the rise for several years now. But today, vegan wine could well steal the show. But what is vegan wine actually?

ALL ABOUT VEGAN WINE

Like the vegan (or vegan) diet, which consists of serving food entirely free of products containing animal substances, vegan wine has a 100% vegetable composition. But if the former is rather easy to imagine, one is entitled to wonder about the latter. Indeed, when we know that a wine is made from grapes, which themselves come from the vine, we can only imagine that its composition can only be vegetable.

Well, make no mistake about it. Because it is not uncommon for winemakers and winemakers to use certain products to make a "glue" (as they say in the jargon) designed to remove particles and yeast residues left in suspension in the wine. In the winemaking world, this process is called "clarification".

Vegan wine: how is it different from organic wine? 

The products used to make the glue are numerous: egg white, fish glue, or casein, a particle found in milk. However, all these ingredients have animal origins. However, it is possible to do without them by using a vegetable glue made from vegetable proteins such as peas, wheat or potatoes. And this is the whole approach of vegan wine. But of course, the other solution for producing vegan wine is not to use glue at all.

Even though they are both produced in an environmentally friendly way, vegan wine and organic wine are quite different. While the specifications for the production of organic wine prohibit the use of products such as gelatine or albumin made from animal blood, egg white and casein are permitted. A wine labelled "organic" is therefore not necessarily vegan and vice versa.


Label V: 100% vegetal product




It's not always easy to spot a vegan wine, unless you buy it directly from the producer and ask him yourself. But the very recent appearance (2016) of labels such as Label V, and E.V.E Vegan, which certify wine as a 100% plant-based product, promises to change all that. Although only a handful of French wine producers have adopted it to date, we can nevertheless assume, given the craze for organic wine in recent years, that vegan wines have a bright future ahead of them.